A milk protein is used in the manufacturing of latex, which means most condoms are unsuitable for use by vegans!
Many people are concerned about condom materials because they have an allergy to latex. Considering that most condoms are made from latex, this concern makes sense. However, it turns out that those afflicted with latex allergies are not the only ones that should be questioning just what condoms are made of.
It turns out that some condoms are made with milk proteins, making them unsuitable for vegans. Vegans, unlike vegetarians, abstain from consuming not only meat but all animal products, including milk.
Many condom companies manufacture their condoms using casein, a milk protein. They may also use milk powder. Thankfully for those vegans who don’t want to give up their birth control, there are vegan-approved condoms. Glyde Condoms, Sir Richard’s Condoms, RFSU Condoms, Condomi Condoms and a number of others have all been confirmed by the Vegan Society to contain no animal products.